Skip to main content

Table 2 Self-management literature reviewed

From: Systematically searching for and assessing the literature for self-management of chronic pain: a lay users’ perspective

Source Document
Book
International Association for the Study of Pain (IASP) Pain management for older adults- Self help guide
Hadjistavropoulos T, Hadjistavropoulos H, eds. Pain Management for Older Adults: A Self-Help Guide. Seattle: IASP Press, 2008. ISBN 0-9310-9270-1; (Available from: http://ebooks.iasp-pain.org/pain_management_for_older_adults)
Leaflets or PDF Download Files
British Pain Society (BPS) http://www.britishpainsociety.org/ Managing Cancer Pain
Managing your pain effectively using OTC medicines
Pain and problem drug use
Intrathecal Drug Delivery Systems
Pain Management Programmes
Stimulating Spinal Cord
Using meds beyond licence
Opioids for persistent pain
Understanding & managing pain
Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN) http://www.sign.ac.uk/ Cancer Pain
NHS Fife https://sites.google.com/site/fifepaininfo/home/for-patients Managing your pain (physio foot notes 3& 6
Bums off seats
CKS NHS http://cks.nice.org.uk/ Pain and Arthritis Information Booklet
Patients Association http://www.patients-association.com/ Pain- A hidden problem
Pain Concern http://painconcern.org.uk/ Factsheet
Flare up planning
  Good days and bad days
  Improving your posture
  Keeping flare ups at bay
  Pain management: A new lease of life
  Travelling abroad
  Nerve pain
  Enjoying outings
  When your pain management skills seem to have stopped working
  Wakey wakey…
Pain Association Scotland http://www.painassociation.com/ Managing chronic pain in 10 easy steps
The Pain Toolkit http://www.paintoolkit.org/ Calendar 2011
The self-care tool kit
North Bristol NHS Trust Strategies for keeping mobile
Pain Medication General Information
NHS Direct http://www.nhsdirect.nhs.uk/ Help & advice for living well with a LTC
NHS Kirklees Chronic Pain
Action on Pain http://www.action-on-pain.co.uk/ Create a pain plan
Long Term Condition Alliance My condition, my terms, my life
http://www.alliance-scotland.org.uk/
NHS QIS Improving services for people with chronic pain
http://www.healthcareimprovementscotland.org/previous_resources/process_documentation/nhs_qis__nice_advice.aspx
Useful Websites & Webpage’s
Bupa http://www.bupa.co.uk
This site has a range of patient information resources
Pain Relief Foundation http://www.painrelieffoundation.org.uk
Pain Support http://www.painsupport.co.uk
CD’s, Videos, MP3’s & Magazines
Neil Berry CD http://www.paincd.org.uk/
Able Radio http://www.ableradio.com/
Newsletter: Pain Matters http://www.painconcern.org.uk/how-we-help/pain-matters-magazine/
Newsletter: Pain Support http://www.painsupport.co.uk/
Womens Weekly/Top Sante etc.